Band Biography
Contact the Band
Other Links



If there is one band that knows the meaning of Rock ‘n’ Roll, it’s Detroit’s Horse Cave Trio. The songwriting team of Ron DeVore (vocals & bass guitar) and Lou Simon (guitar) have soaked up influences along with bourbon, from the bluegrass of Kentucky to the mean streets of the Motor City. Think Elvis and Johnny Cash over at Sun Records in Memphis, and then add a healthy splash of Chicago Blues, Stooges / MC5 Detroit Attitude and Rolling Stones Swagger.

“Dust Off The Jukebox” is the fourth full length release from Horse Cave Trio and the second for the Award Winning Funky D Records. As the title implies, the band takes you on a journey through musical styles and memories that influenced them and this recording. Thirteen tracks fill this Jukebox, and each one is an instant HCT classic. The first track, “Memphis Shine” is a tribute to the sounds of Motown/Stax. The title track “Dust off The Jukebox” is a Stonesy stomp that has plenty of Detroit swagger and soul. “The Bluesman Of Rock ‘n’ Roll” and “Sugar Coated Love” feature Detroit guitar legend Jim McCarty. His former partner from The Detroit Wheels and The Rockets, Johnny Bee Badanjek, wrote and performs on the original track “Fix Of Love” which has a Sixties British Invasion feel. The producer for this release is Tino Gross(Howling Diablos) who also penned the Rockabilly original “Man Who Built Your Hot Rod”. The Horse Cave original “Honey Always” brings back the days of Doo Wop with a modern flair. “Chestnut Flats” takes you on a journey through the hills of Tennessee with a Tony Joe White/CCR swampy groove. Also featured throughout the release is Jimmie Bones(Kid Rock) who adds his signature keyboard magic.

The Horse Cave Trio formed late in 2002 with a vision to create roots music with a Detroit edge - a straight ahead, high energy roots rock trio that would perform and record original music and remold classic tunes into something new and exciting. DeVore was looking to form a band that would fan his already blazing rockabilly flames. He found the perfect partner in guitarist Lou Simon, a veteran of the Detroit music scene. Rounding out the Trio is brother-in-arms Michael Stutso on drums, a man who doesn’t so much put the hammer down as create rhythmic havoc with it. Put them together, and the trio creates what it likes to call Hillbilly Rock 'n' Roll, or Red Hot Rockabilly, Hi-Octane Roadhouse Blues, or Outlaw Country Rock 'n' Roll. Take your pick.

The Horse Cave Trio was named for the small town in Kentucky where DeVore's parents are from, though they moved to Ypsilanti, Michigan, in 1945. The group released its first full-length CD, Hot Rods, Choppers & Rock ‘n’ Roll on the Austin Texas indie label Tropic Lightning in 2004. Not a band to rest on their early success, the follow-up came in March 2006 with the release of Curb Service on the Embassy Hotel Records label. The disc featured 11 brand new original tunes, including "Hillbilly Rock 'n' Roll", "Groove Daddy" and "Rev It Up". The music flits between American roots genres, from rockabilly to blues to country to gospel and all places in between. The Horse Cave Trio released the cd single/live EP Honeybee in October of 2007. “Hart County” was the third full length release for the band and the first for Funky D Records.
This album featured the title track, “Hart County Outlaw Blues”, the ballad “She’s the One” and their rockin’ cover of Johnny Cash’s “Folsom Prison Blues”.

Since forming, the Horse Cave Trio has performed on bills with artists and groups as prestigious and established as Johnny Winter, John Mayall, Albert Lee, Jimmie Vaughan, Los Lonely Boys, Kentucky Headhunters, the Marshall Tucker Band, George Thorogood, the Blasters… and many more.

For more information:

Contact: Ron DeVore
Cell (734) 320-0692
Home (734) 508-6080
Email: kdev321@yahoo.com

Hot Rods, Choppers & Rock 'n' Roll Tropic Lightning Records 2004
Curb Service  Embassy Hotel Records 2006
Honeybee/Live At The Dive EP  2008(self released)
I Am The Sheik EP Funky D Records 2010
Hart County Funky D Records 2011
Forever Forever Funky D Records 2016
Dust Off The Jukebox Funky D Records 2017